Skip to main content

Anaheim's all-time leading scorer Teemu Selanne re-signs for another season

The Hockey News

The Hockey News

ANAHEIM, Calif. - Anaheim's all-time leading scorer is returning for another season.

Teemu Selanne signed a one-year contract Monday to play his 19th NHL season and 12th with the Ducks.

The 40-year-old played only 54 games for the Ducks last season because of injuries, but still collected 27 goals, including his 600th on March 21 against Colorado.

Selanne became one of only three Europeans to score 600 goals and surpassed childhood idol Jari Kurri for sole possession of 17th on the all-time goals list when he scored his 602nd and 603rd goals in April against Vancouver. He currently stands at 606.

Known as the "Finnish Flash," Selanne has played 1,186 career NHL games, 1,260 points (654 assists), and ranks 35th in all-time points and 56th in all-time assists.

He won his first Stanley Cup with Anaheim in 2007 in his 15th NHL season.

“His commitment to the game is unparalleled, both on and off the ice,”said Ducks GM Bob Murray in a statement.

Selanne represented Finland at the 2010 Winter Games in Vancouver for the fifth time in his career, capturing the bronze medal (his third Olympic medal). He is the all-time Olympic men’s hockey scorer with 37 points in 31 career games.



Roberto Luongo Q&A: What it Means to be Named to Hockey Hall of Fame

Roberto Luongo looks back at how his career started, playing 70-plus games a year at points, becoming a fan favorite in Florida, his Twitter account and what getting named to the Hockey Hall of Fame means to him.


Could the New York Rangers Part Ways With Artemi Panarin?

Panarin struggled in the post-season, and some reports have suggested it wouldn't be crazy if he was shipped out of the Big Apple. Still, as Lyle Richardson says, it would be a challenge to move the forward.

Daniel and Henrik Sedin

Sedin Twins, Luongo Highlight Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2022

Daniel and Henrik Sedin, Roberto Luongo and Daniel Alfredsson headline the official Hockey Hall of Fame induction class of 2022.