I just finished watching the Canadiens-Kings game (Saturday, Jan. 31).
I am not a fan of either club, but I must say I am as confused as ever as to what is a penalty and what isn’t. To me, I see game management at its finest. A cross-check in front of the net is called with five minutes left against L.A., presumably because Montreal had been shorthanded the four minutes previous.
I’m not saying the cross-check isn’t a penalty, but I could show you six identical incidents over the course of the game that went uncalled by two referees.
Moments later, Montreal scored a goal after Chris Higgins threw his man to the ice. To me, clamping down on obstruction has turned out to be very selective.
Mike Stackhouse, Yorkton, Sask.