Behold, the second round of the WHL Best Name of the Year bracket

We’re down to a Sweet Sixteen of monikers and though there were some surprises, many heavyweight competitors still remain. Who will emerge from our exclusive bracket?

Thanks to all the folks who voted on Twitter, we have figured out our “Sweet Sixteen” candidates for the Western League’s name of the year. If you need a refresher on what we’re doing, check out the primer here. Otherwise, let’s take a look at the second-round matchups:

Kord Pankewicz (Lethbridge) vs. Kayle Doetzel (Red Deer)

Dysin Mayo (Edmonton) vs. Keegan Kanzig (Victoria)

Coleman Vollrath (Victoria) vs. Keoni Teixera (Portland)

READ ALSO:  Sharks snap skid, Nabokov makes big saves late in 3-2 win over Blackhawks

Jayce Hawyrluk (Brandon) vs. Chaz Reddekopp (Victoria)

Carsen Twarynski (Calgary) vs. Schael Higson (Saskatoon)

Keanu Yamamoto (Spokane) vs. Nolan Volcan (Seattle)

Chance Braid (Prince George) vs. Kohl Bauml (Everett)

Zak Zborosky (Kootenay) vs. Ryely McKinstry (Vancouver)

Check out our Twitter page for your chance to vote on these new clashes. Polls will close next Friday at noon Eastern time.