Canada announces roster for 2008 women’s world championships in China

Hockey Canada has released its roster for the 2008 IIHF world women’s championships Tuesday.

The tournament, which takes place from April 4-12 in Harbin, China, will see coach Peter Smith and GM Melody Davidson take 20 players plus two alternates overseas to play against the best competition the world has to offer.

Canada’s roster includes 17 returning members from the 2007 gold-medal winning team.

READ ALSO:  Erratic Ilya Bryzgalov holds key to Philadelphia's playoff future as Flyers await 2nd opponent

Meghan Agosta
Rebecca Johnston
Cherie Piper
Katie Weatherston
Gillian Apps
Caroline Ouellette
Jayna Hefford
Jennifer Botterill
Valerie Chouinard (alternate)
Hayley Wickenheiser
Kelly Bechard
Sarah Vaillancourt
Gina Kingsbury

Carla McLeod
Becky Kellar
Colleen Sostorics
Gillian Ferrari
Meaghan Mikkelson
Delaney Collins

Shannon Szabados (alternate)
Charline Labonte
Kim St-Pierre