Capitals star Alex Ovechkin named MVP by players for third straight time

LAS VEGAS, Nev. – NHL players believe Alex Ovechkin was the most outstanding among them this season.

The Washington Capitals forward was given the Ted Lindsay Award on Wednesday during the NHL’s awards show, the third straight year he claimed the honour.

READ ALSO:  Source: Windsor Spitfires to add Richard Panik, Cam Fowler next season

Ovechkin finished third in scoring with 109 points—behind Vancouver Canucks forward Henrik Sedin and Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby, the two players he beat out in voting.

The award was formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award.