Chara, Doan and Lidstrom named finalists for the Messier leadership award

NEW YORK, N.Y. – Zdeno Chara of the Bruins, Shane Doan of the Phoenix Coyotes and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings were named as finalists for this year’s Mark Messier Leadership Award.

The award recognizes leadership both on and off the ice. Messier, a six-time Stanley Cup winner and 16-time NHL all-star, selects both the finalists as well as the overall winner.

READ ALSO:  Selling out

The award recipient will be unveiled June 22 during the NHL awards banquet.