Crosby, Doan and Miller are finalists for Mark Messier NHL leadership award

NEW YORK, N.Y. – Pittsburgh’s Sidney Crosby, Phoenix’s Shane Doan and Buffalo’s Ryan Miller are the finalists for the Mark Messier NHL leadership award.

The award recognizes an individual as a superior leader in hockey and as a contributing member of society. The award honours an individual who leads by positive example through on-ice performance, motivation of team members and a dedication to community activities and charitable causes.

Messier, a six-time Stanley Cup champion and 16-time NHL all-star, solicits suggestions from club and league personnel and fans through in compiling a list of potential candidates. However, the selection of the finalists and the winner is Messier’s alone.

READ ALSO:  Maple Leafs down Flyers 4-2 in van Riemsdyk's return to Philadelphia

The winner will be announced Wednesday, June 23, during the 2010 NHL Awards.

Previous winners of the Mark Messier Leadership Award are Chris Chelios of the Detroit Red Wings, Mats Sundin of the Toronto Maple Leafs, and Jarome Iginla of the Calgary Flames.