Datsyuk, Pominville, St. Louis named finalists for Lady Byng

TORONTO – Two-time winner Pavel Datsyuk of the Detroit Red Wings, Buffalo Sabres winger Jason Pominville and Tampa Bay Lightning forward Martin St. Louis were named finalists for the Lady Byng Trophy on Thursday.

The award is given to the player who has “exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.”

Datsyuk won the award the past two seasons and could become the first player to win in three consecutive years since Frank Boucher of the New York Rangers from 1933-35, capping a run of seven Byng wins in eight seasons.

Datsyuk finished fourth in NHL scoring with a career-high 97 points (31 goals, 66 assists) in 82 games and led all NHLers with a plus-41 rating.

READ ALSO:  Analysis: League needs to learn from Tocchet lesson

St. Louis is a Lady Byng Trophy finalist for the third time after registering 83 points (25 goals, 58 assists) in 82 games. He led all NHL forwards in ice time for the second consecutive season, averaging 24 minutes 17 seconds per game.

Pominville set a career-high with 80 points (27 goals, 53 assists) in his second full NHL season, 42 of them coming in his final 34 games. Of his 27 goals, 24 came at even strength and one short-handed.

The Lady Byng Awards is voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Finalists for the Frank Selke Trophy for the league’s outstanding defensive forward will be named Friday.