Dynamo Minsk defeats host Davos to capture Spengler Cup championship

DAVOS, Switzerland – Dynamo Minsk defeated host HC Davos 3-1 on Thursday to capture the Spengler Cup hockey title.

Andrei Mikhalev, Denis Kochetkov and Aleksandr Kulakov scored for the Belarussian club team that finished the tournament with a 4-1 record. Juraj Kolnik scored the lone goal for Davos (3-2).

Canada, which has played in eight of the last 10 championship finals, was ousted from the tournament Wednesday after a loss to Minsk.

READ ALSO:  Bergeron scores twice as Canadiens come back to beat Blue Jackets 5-3

Overall, Canada has won the Spengler Cup 11 times since first taking part in the tournament in 1984.

The Spengler Cup, held annually since 1923, is the world’s oldest pro international hockey tournament. The event features club teams and a Canadian entry, which in recent years has been made up of European-based players.