Ed Belfour, Joe Nieuwendyk, Doug Gilmour and Mark Howe called for induction to Hockey Hall of Fame

Ed Belfour, Doug Gilmour, Mark Howe and Joe Nieuwendyk will make up the next Hockey Hall of Fame class that will be inducted in November.

The Hall’s 18-member selection committee made the announcement Tuesday.

While Belfour gets in on his first try, the other four have endured a wait before being inducted.

Belfour’s 484 career NHL wins rank third behind only Martin Brodeur and Patrick Roy andhis 88 playoff wins are fourth behind Roy, Brodeur and Grant Fuhr. Belfour won the Vezina Trophy in 1991 and 1993 as a member of the Chicago Blackhawks and won the Stanley Cup with the Dallas Stars in 1999. He was a member of Team Canada’s 2002 Olympic gold medal-winning team.

Nieuwendyk finished with 564 goals in his career, ranking him 21st all-time. His 1,126 points were good enough for 51st all-time. He was the 1988 Calder Trophy winner with the Calgary Flames, won the Conn Smythe Trophy in 1999 en route to winning the Cup with Dallas and was also a member of Canada’s 2002 gold medal-winning team.

READ ALSO:  Perreault back in familiar setting as he begins third tour of duty with Leafs

Gilmour finished with 450 goals and 1,414 points in 1,474 games. He was a Stanley Cup champion with Calgary in 1989 and scored the winning goal in the series. Gilmour won the Selke Trophy in 1993 as a member of the Toronto Maple Leafs in a career-high, 127-point season.

Howe has been retired since 1995 and has been eligible for several years. He scored 197 goals and 742 points in 929 NHL games, but made his name originally in the WHA. Howe was the 1979 WHA rookie of the year and was a 30-goal scorer in five of his six seasons in the league. In 1975, Howe led all playoff scorers with 10 goal and 22 points in 13 games in leading the Houston Aeros to the Avco Cup. Howe was moved from the wing to defense throughout his career because of his versatile play. He finished with 208 goals and 504 points in 426 career WHA games.