Hamilton, Hershey clinch berths in American Hockey League’s Calder Cup final

Both finalists clinched their berths in the best-of-seven series with victories Saturday night to wrap up the conference championships.

The Bulldogs won the Robert W. Clarke Trophy as the Western Conference champions with a 3-1 victory over the Chicago Wolves.

It’s the second conference title in five seasons for the Bulldogs, the Montreal Canadiens’ affiliate.

The Bears claimed the Richard F. Canning Trophy as the Eastern champs with a 3-1 victory over the Manchester Monarchs. They extend their own AHL record by advancing to the Calder Cup final for the 20th time.

READ ALSO:  Blackhawks show resilience in playoffs by rallying to beat Detroit in Western Conference semis

Hershey, affiliate for the Washington Capitals, will try to become the first team to repeat as league champions since the Springfield Indians in 1991.

The Bears have nine Calder Cup championships, tied with the Cleveland Barons for the most in league history.

Hershey hosts Games 1 and 2, Hamilton 3-5, and the Bears 6-7 if necessary.