Hockey transactions

National Hockey League

COLUMBUS BLUE JACKETS-Signed RW Nikolai Zherdev to a three-year contract. Assigned D Kris Russell to Medicine Hat of the WHL.

MONTREAL CANADIENS-Claimed D Patrick Traverse off waivers from San Jose.

OTTAWA SENATORS-Named Anders Hedberg North American/European hockey coordinator.

TAMPA BAY LIGHTNING-Assigned D Mike Egener to Springfield of the AHL. Named Dave Andreychuk community representative.

VANCOUVER CANUCKS-Assigned to F Tyler Bouck, F Lee Goren, F Brandon Reid, Mike Brown, F Jesse Schultz, D Yannick Tremblay, D Alexander Edler, D Nathan McIver and G Drew MacIntyre to Manitoba of the AHL. Returned RW Michael Grabner to his junior team.

American Hockey League

HAMILTON BULLDOGS-Assigned G Dov Grumet-Morris, F Jean-Michel Daoust, F Scott Reynolds and D Riley Day to Cincinnati of the ECHL and D Niko Tuomi to Florida of the ECHL.

HERSHEY BEARS-Announced LW Tomas Fleischmann and D Jeff Schultz have been assigned to the team by the Washington Capitals.

READ ALSO:  Streaking Predators visit Flyers

SYRACUSE CRUNCH-Assigned D Jeff Winchester to Dayton of the ECHL. Released C Paul Kelly, C Shaun Landolt, C A.J. MacLean, C Kris Vernarsky, D Luis Tremblay, D Evan Shaw, LW Kelly Thomson and G Brad Roberts.


TOLEDO STORM-Signed D Ryan Reid, D Gerry Burke and F Chris Blight.

VICTORIA SALMON KINGS-Announced G Bryan Bridges, F Mike Lefley and F David Wrigley have been assigned to the team by Manitoba of the AHL. Central Hockey League

AUSTIN ICE BATS-Signed F Julian Smith, D Adam Holmgren and G Andrew Martin.

United Hockey League

FLINT GENERALS-Signed F Jeff Zehr, F Josh Piro and G Jason Churchill.


QUAD CITY MALLARDS-Named Avi Walker athletic trainer.


National Lacrosse League

ARIZONA STING-Signed D Bruce Murray.

CALGARY ROUGHNECKS-Signed D Luke Hinton to a one-year contract.