Kings and Sharks win, Islanders and Panthers lose on new NBC schedule

Long Island and Florida get the shaft, while Canada’s two solitudes manage to make a couple appearances each. Overall, get ready for a lot of Kings, Caps, Sharks, Flyers and Bruins, plus more West Coast start times.

From the Winter Classic in Washington to the All-Star Game in Columbus, NBC will be busy in its duties for the 2014-15 season, but they won’t be lugging any gear to Long Island or Sunrise.

As the schedule currently stands, the New York Islanders and Florida Panthers are the only American teams that will not appear on a national NBC broadcast. Adding salt to the wound, both Toronto and Montreal are slated to play twice each on NBC.

Overall, NBC will broadcast 103 regular season games, with the majority appearing on the NBCSN channel. Los Angeles, San Jose, Washington, Boston and Philadelphia lead the way with 12 games each. The Caps host Chicago at the Winter Classic on Jan. 1, while Columbus is in charge of All-Star Game festivities on Jan. 24-25.

READ ALSO:  Little contact but bad blood plain to see between Bettman and Balsillie

The season kicks off with a double-header on Oct. 8 featuring the Flyers at Bruins, followed by the Kings hosting the Sharks. A greater emphasis has been placed on West Coast games on this schedule, with 10 matches slated to begin at 10pm eastern time or later.

NBC and the NHL will also use “flex scheduling” once again, meaning the broadcast schedule on Sundays could change, giving the Islanders and Panthers a slim chance at getting back on the slate.