Long-time hockey writer and broadcaster to receive Hall of Fame awards

TORONTO – A journalist who has spent almost 30 years covering the Montreal Canadiens and the Washington Capitals’ original play-by-play voice are being recognized by the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Marc de Foy, who has spent 28 years working in Montreal, will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for hockey journalism.

Ron Weber, who called Capitals games when the franchise joined the NHL in 1974, will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

Bill Hay, chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame, announced the awards Tuesday.

Kevin Allen, president of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, said de Foy has been a standout reporter in the highly competition Montreal market. For the last 16 months de Foy has been covering the Canadiens and the NHL for

“He’s an old school reporter who breaks big stories on a regular basis,” Allen said in a release. “He is a man known for his classy approach, his work ethic and his devotion to telling stories accurately and professionally.”

READ ALSO:  Panthers goalie Vokoun hungry for playoffs in what may be final year in Florida

Weber was calling games for the Baltimore Clippers when he was hired as the voice of the Capitals, and announced every one of the team’s record-breaking 67 defeats in their first year.

Over the next 23 years Weber never missed a regular season or playoff broadcast, talking Capitals fans through 1,936 consecutive games.

Weber and de Foy will receive their awards at a luncheon presentation on Nov. 8.

Named in honour of the late Montreal newspaper reporter, the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award was first presented in 1984 by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association in recognition of distinguished members of the hockey writing profession whose words have brought honour to journalism and to the game of hockey.

The Foster Hewitt Memorial Award was first presented in 1984 by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association in recognition of members of the radio and television industry who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and to the game of hockey.