Messier, Francis, MacInnis, Stevens earn spots in Hockey Hall of Fame

All four players were on the Hall of Fame ballot for the first time.

NHL executive Jim Gregory has been voted in as a builder.

Messier is second all-time on the NHL’s points list, trailing only longtime teammate Wayne Gretzky.

READ ALSO:  Sharks sign D Justin Braun to 5-year, $19 million extension

Other eligible players that didn’t make it in this year include Adam Oates, Igor Larionov and Claude Lemieux.

The Hall allows a maximum of four players in each year.

The induction ceremony will be held on Nov. 12.