MANNHEIM, Germany – Norwegian captain Tommy Jakobsen has been kicked out of the IIHF World Hockey Championship.
He received a match penalty after bumping an official during Friday’s 12-1 loss to Canada. Jakobsen claimed afterwards that he ran into the official by accident, but the IIHF’s disciplinary panel ruled that the contact was intentional.
The play happened shortly after Canadian forward Steve Downie scored to make it 6-1 at 18:16 of the second period.
There was a scrum in front of the Norwegian net and Jakobsen was upset there wasn’t a penalty called against Canada. He bumped into the official while skating back to the team’s bench.
The 39-year-old defenceman was competing in the world championship for the 18th time. Jakobsen also represented Norway at the Vancouver Olympics and was the country’s flag-bearer during the opening cermonies.