Patrick Kane, Blackhawks the big winners at NHL Awards

Blackhawks star Patrick Kane is the undisputed most valuable player, and teammate Artemi Panarin was named rookie of the year.

Everyone agrees, Patrick Kane was the best player in the NHL in 2015-16. The Blackhawks star cleaned up at the annual NHL Awards taking home both most-valuable-player awards among his three trophies.

Kane was the runaway winner of the most prestigious award, the Hart Trophy, earning 121 first-place votes from media voters. Runner up Sidney Crosby earned 11 first-place votes. Kane also won the Ted Lindsay Award for the most valuable player as voted by fellow players.

Kane also was the Art Ross Trophy winner as the league’s leading scorer. He finished the season with a career high 46 goals and 60 assists and was 17 points clear of second-leading scorer Jamie Benn.

Kane is the first Blackhawks player to win the Hart since Stan Mikita in 1968, and the first American player since Brett Hull in 1991.

Kane’s Chicago teammate Artemi Panarin took home the Calder Trophy as rookie of the year. Playing mostly on a line with Kane, Panarin put up 30 goals and 77 points in 80 games to lead all first-year players. Many expected it to be a close vote between Panarin and last year’s No. 1 overall pick Connor McDavid. But Panarin won handily and, in fact, McDavid — who only played in 45 games — was third in voting behind Flyers defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere.

Here are the rest of the major award winners:

Capitals goalie Braden Holtby was the runaway winner of the Vezina Trophy for top goaltender. Holtby was among the league-leaders in wins, goals-against, and save percentage. He joined Olaf Kolzig and Jim Carey as Capitals to win the award.

READ ALSO:  VIDEO: Raising California - Elite prospects in the Golden State

Kings defenseman Drew Doughty was the surprise winner of the Norris Trophy for top defenseman. Doughty, a two-time finalist for the award, picked up 93 first-place votes en route to beating out high-scoring D-men Erik Karlsson and Brent Burns. Karlsson was the fifth-leading scorer in the NHL with 82 points and Burns’ 27 goals led all defensemen.

Panthers veteran Jaromir Jagr won the Masterton Trophy for perseverance and dedication to hockey. Jagr, 44, put up 66 points for the Panthers and has signed another one-year deal with the team.

Kings center Anze Kopitar took home two awards, winning the Selke Trophy as the top defensive forward and the Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanship. Kopitar was previously a two-time Selke finalist and edged three-time Selke winner Patrice Bergeron for the award.

Capitals coach Barry Trotz won his first Jack Adams Award as top coach. Trotz led the Capitals to the Presidents’ Trophy and narrowly edged Florida’s Gerard Gallant for the award.

Penguins GM Jim Rutherford won General Manager of the Year. Rutherford added key players such as Phil Kessel, Nick Bonino, and Carl Hagelin en route to winning the Stanley Cup.