Players on tap for the Hall of Fame

This is a dry year for first-time eligible Hall of Fame candidates because no one technically retired after the 2004-05 season thanks to the lockout.

Because of the three-year waiting period in place, players who didn’t return after the lockout were deemed to have retired in 2004, not 2005. That created a glut of Hall of Fame candidates last year and nobody this season.

That’s OK, though. There are plenty of excellent names we could make a case for. Last year’s class was the best ever, with Mark Messier, Scott Stevens, Ron Francis and Al MacInnis getting the nod. With the maximum class set at four, a few good candidates had to wait, including Igor Larionov, Adam Oates, Claude Lemieux and Vincent Damphousse.

There are holdovers from previous years, as well. Keep in mind though, just two players were inducted in 2006 meaning the other names you see below were considered and rejected by the 18-member selection committee.

READ ALSO:  Bonding off the ice helped make Vegas an instant success

The 2008 inductees will be decided and announced in June.

10. Dale Hunter, eligible since 2002

9. Mike Richter, eligible since 2006

8. Dino Ciccarelli, eligible since 2002

7. Sergei Makarov, eligible since 2001

6. Guy Carbonneau, eligible since 2003

5. Glenn Anderson, eligible since 2000

4. Doug Gilmour, eligible since 2006

3. Pavel Bure, eligible since 2006

2. Adam Oates, eligible since 2007

1. Igor Larionov, eligible since 2007

The Top 10 appears Wednesdays only on If you enjoy this feature, subscribe to The Hockey News magazine for the exclusive countdown, Starting From 10, and other great features from the world of hockey.

Enter THN’s Free Playoff Challenge for your chance to win a 2008 Harley-Davidson Night Rod Special Motorcycle. Contest closes at the start of the third round.