News

Refs don’t see goal by Kings’ Smyth, forced to negate Sharks goal

SAN JOSE, Calif. – A refereeing mistake has led to a two-goal swing in the Los Angeles Kings’ game against the San Jose Sharks.

With San Jose leading 3-1 late in the second period Monday night, the officials failed to see Ryan Smyth had clearly scored for the Kings. San Jose’s Marc-Edouard Vlasic retrieved the puck from inside the net, and the officials allowed play to continue while Smyth and his teammates briefly celebrated.

READ ALSO:  Avalanche fire coach Joe Sacco after missing playoffs for 3rd straight season

The teams kept playing until Torrey Mitchell scored a breakaway goal that appeared to put the Sharks ahead 4-1 with 5:14 to play.

But after video review, the officials credited Smyth for his goal, wiped Mitchell’s goal off the scoreboard and wound the clock back 71 seconds to 6:25. The Sharks led 3-2 after two periods.