Watch a mic’d up Jonathan Toews hand Kimmo Timonen the Stanley Cup

After receiving the Stanley Cup from commissioner Gary Bettman, Chicago Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews made sure Kimmo Timonen was the next player to hoist the trophy. Watch and listen in as Toews hands the veteran blueliner the Cup in what is Timonen’s final NHL game.

Kimmo Timonen spent 16 seasons, 1,108 regular season games, 105 post-season contests and scored a total of 121 goals and 606 points, including playoff points, across his career. However, he had never won the Stanley Cup and that’s why there was no question who the first Chicago Blackhawk, after captain Jonathan Toews, would hoist the trophy.

In a moment not all to different than the incredible scene between Joe Sakic and Ray Bourque in 2000-01 when Sakic immediately passed the Cup off to Bourque, the veteran Timonen latched on to the trophy, lifted it above his head and, as you can hear Toews yell, was encouraged to take the Cup for a lap before passing it off:

Timonen, drafted in the 10th round, 250th overall, of the 1993 draft, told media this past weekend that this would be his final season in the league, adding that he was down to his final five days ahead of Saturday’s game. The Blackhawks went out and won Game 5 and followed it up with a 2-0 Game 6 Cup-clinching victory.

READ ALSO:  San Jose Sharks ink deals with Galiardi, McCarthy, McLaren and Matsumoto

In meeting with the media before Game 6, Timonen said that he hoped he could see another Patrick Kane Stanley Cup-winning goal, like the one Timonen was on the ice for in 2010 while a member of the Philadelphia Flyers. While it wasn’t the game-winner, Kane did score the insurance goal late in the third period. Timonen’s reaction? Well, he admitted post-game that he began to cry when Kane scored.

One of the greatest traditions to come out of the Stanley Cup presentation ceremony has been the handing of the NHL’s top prize to veteran players and those who have yet to win it, and it’s something the Blackhawks took care of well during Monday night’s celebration.

Following Timonen, the Cup was handed to Antoine Vermette, Andrew Desjardins and Brad Richards, who, while he has a Cup, was on the losing end of the final in 2013-14.