Skip to main content

Clark out three weeks-plus for injury-plagued Washington Capitals

ARLINGTON, Va. - Washington Capitals forward Chris Clark will be sidelined at least three weeks with a stress fracture in his forearm, the latest injury setback for a team that had to recall four players from the minors for Wednesday night's game against the Atlanta Thrashers.

Defencemen Karl Alzner and Sami Lepisto and forwards Chris Bourque and Graham Mink were recalled from Hershey of the AHL by the Capitals, who were missing seven players from their opening night roster by the end of Monday night's game against the Minnesota Wild.

Forwards Clark and Boyd Gordon and defencemen John Erskine and Jeff Schultz and were injured during the game. Defenceman Mike Green and forwards Sergei Fedorov and Alexander Semin did not suit up. None of the seven were expected to play Wednesday.

All of the injured are day to day except for Clark and Schultz, who has a broken finger and will be sidelined four to six weeks. Clark, who had a cast on his arm at the morning skate, won't return until mid-December at the earliest.

Lepisto made his NHL debut last season, playing seven games with the Capitals. Bourque had played five games with Washington over two seasons. Mink had played five games with the Capitals but none since the 2005-06 season. Alzner was poised to make his NHL debut Wednesday night.



Roberto Luongo Q&A: What it Means to be Named to Hockey Hall of Fame

Roberto Luongo looks back at how his career started, playing 70-plus games a year at points, becoming a fan favorite in Florida, his Twitter account and what getting named to the Hockey Hall of Fame means to him.


Could the New York Rangers Part Ways With Artemi Panarin?

Panarin struggled in the post-season, and some reports have suggested it wouldn't be crazy if he was shipped out of the Big Apple. Still, as Lyle Richardson says, it would be a challenge to move the forward.

Daniel and Henrik Sedin

Sedin Twins, Luongo Highlight Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2022

Daniel and Henrik Sedin, Roberto Luongo and Daniel Alfredsson headline the official Hockey Hall of Fame induction class of 2022.