Skip to main content

Emery, Langkow, Laperriere named finalists for Bill Masterton Memorial trophy

The Hockey News

The Hockey News

NEW YORK, N.Y. - Anaheim's Ray Emery, Calgary's Daymond Langkow and Philadelphia's Ian Laperriere have been nominated for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.

The award is given "to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey," the NHL announced Tuesday.

Emery returned from rehabilitation for a complicated bone-graft surgery last April to repair a ball joint in his right hip.

He went 7-2-0 with a 2.28 goals-against average and .926 save percentage in 10 games to help the Ducks reach the playoffs.

Langkow returned to the Flames April 1 for his 1,014 career game after missing over a year due to recovery from a neck injury.

Laperriere was injured blocking a shot during the Flyers' playoff run last year. He failed to return to the team with concussion-related symptoms but has continued to serve the team in several capacities.


Tage Thompson

Bluelines: Enjoying the Salary Cap Era in the NHL

Stan Fischler writes about his thoughts on the salary cap, NHLers facing the pressure to perform, the highest goal-scoring rate in decades and more.

Giacomo Martino

NHL Draft Prospects to Watch at 2022 World Junior A Challenge

The World Junior A Challenge starts Dec. 11 and features intriguing players not at the World Junior Championship. Ian Kennedy examines some NHL draft prospects.

New Jersey Devils

New Jersey Devils' Play-By-Play Man Enjoys His Rookie Ride

After calling 32 different sports since 2016, Bill Spaulding found his place with the New Jersey Devils. And he couldn't have arrived at a better time.