Skip to main content

Hockey transactions

Movements in the world of hockey Friday:

National Hockey League

COLUMBUS BLUE JACKETS-Activated G Steve Mason from injured reserve. Assigned G Dan LaCosta to Syracuse (AHL).

MONTREAL CANADIENS-Recalled F Kyle Chipchura from Hamilton (AHL).

PHOENIX COYOTES-Activated RW Peter Mueller from injured reserve. Assigned LW Jeff Hoggan to San Antonio (AHL).

PITTSBURGH PENGUINS-Assigned F Luca Caputi to Wilkes-Barre/Scranton (AHL).

TAMPA BAY LIGHTNING-Assigned C Paul Szczechura to Norfolk (AHL). American Hockey League

ALBANY RIVER RATS-Recalled D Noah Babin from Florida (ECHL).


HARTFORD WOLD PACK-Announced N.Y. Rangers assigned F Tomas Zaborsky to the team from Dayton (ECHL).


PHOENIX ROADRUNNERS-Announced F Dan DaSilva has been recalled to Worcester (AHL).

Central Hockey League

TULSA OILERS-Signed F Matt Maccarone and F Jason Weitzel. COLLEGE

NOTRE DAME-Announced coach Charlie Weis will take over offensive coordinator duties, defensive coordinator Corwin Brown will share the title of defensive coordinator with Jon Tenuta while adding the title of associate head coach; offensive line coach Frank Verducci has added the title of running game coordinator and receivers coach Rob Ianello will be assistant coach for offense.



Roberto Luongo Q&A: What it Means to be Named to Hockey Hall of Fame

Roberto Luongo looks back at how his career started, playing 70-plus games a year at points, becoming a fan favorite in Florida, his Twitter account and what getting named to the Hockey Hall of Fame means to him.


Could the New York Rangers Part Ways With Artemi Panarin?

Panarin struggled in the post-season, and some reports have suggested it wouldn't be crazy if he was shipped out of the Big Apple. Still, as Lyle Richardson says, it would be a challenge to move the forward.

Daniel and Henrik Sedin

Sedin Twins, Luongo Highlight Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2022

Daniel and Henrik Sedin, Roberto Luongo and Daniel Alfredsson headline the official Hockey Hall of Fame induction class of 2022.