Skip to main content

NHL announces Jack Adams Award finalists: Flames' Bob Hartley, Rangers' Alain Vigneault, & Preds' Peter Laviolette

The NHL announced Wednesday the three finalists for this year's Jack Adams Award as the league's top coach: Rangers bench boss Alain Vigneault, Nashville's Peter Laviolette, and Calgary's Bob Hartley.
The Hockey News

The Hockey News

The NHL announced Wednesday the finalists for this year's Jack Adams Award as the league's top coach: Calgary's Bob Hartley, Nashville's Peter Laviolette, and the Rangers' Alain Vigneault.

The Jack Adams Award, presented since 1974 to the head coach deemed to have "contributed the most to his team's success," is voted on by members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association. There are worthy candidates beyond the three finalists this year, but there's no arguing the finalists aren't as worthy of the honor as anyone else.

Hartley guided the Flames to a 45-30-7 record and a 20-point jump in standings points, and secured Calgary's first playoff appearance since 2009. The 54-year-old, who won a Stanley Cup with Colorado in 2001, is a first-time Jack Adams Award finalist. In his first year with the Preds, the 50-year-old Laviolette led Nashville to a 47-25-10 mark and a nine-point jump in standings points. This is his second appearance as a Jack Adams Award finalist as he finished second in voting with the Carolina Hurricanes in 2005-06. Vigneault won the Jack Adams as Canucks coach in 2007 and was a finalist for the Adams Award two other times, and the 53-year-old took the Rangers to a 53-22-7 record and Presidents' Trophy this year as the NHL's top regular-season team.

Last season's Jack Adams Award winner was Colorado Avalanche bench boss Patrick Roy.



Rangers Beat Hurricanes to Force Game 7

The New York Rangers beat the Carolina Hurricanes 5-2 on Saturday to force Game 7.

Nathan MacKinnon and Connor McDavid

Screen Shots: Sizing Up Avalanche vs. Oilers and Bruins, Capitals Hit Hard

We're about to get a spicy battle between Nathan MacKinnon and Connor McDavid, and the surgery to Brad Marchand and Tom WIlson will put their respective teams in a tough spot to start 2022-23.

2022 IIHF World Championship

Canada, Finland to Play for World Hockey Championship Gold for Third Straight Event

Familiar foes will be at it again as Canada and Finland will meet for gold at the 2022 IIHF World Hockey Championship.