Skip to main content

Oilers give Smid two-year deal, Brule and Smith get two-way contracts

EDMONTON - The Edmonton Oilers signed defenceman Ladislav Smid to a two-year contract Wednesday and handed one-year, two-way deals to forwards Gilbert Brule and Ryan Stone.

Smid, 23, set career highs in assists and points with 11 last season. He had no goals and 57 penalty minutes in 60 games played.

"I'm very pleased to have Ladislav signed," Oilers GM Steve Tambellini said in a statement. "He's a very competitive young defenceman that has the ability to contribute in all situations."

The Frydlant, Czech Republic native has played in 202 career NHL games, all with the Oilers, recording three goals, 22 assists and 152 penalty minutes.

Smid was obtained from the Anaheim Ducks with Joffrey Lupul and three draft picks in exchange for defenceman Chris Pronger in July 2006.

"This is great news for me," said Smid. "I really enjoy playing for the Oilers. I feel my game is improving every year and I can't wait to get started again this fall."

Brule, 22, split last season between the Springfield Falcons of the American Hockey League and the Oilers.

He had two goals and one assist in 11 games for Edmonton, and 13 goals with 11 assists in 39 games for Springfield.

Stone, acquired with goaltender Dany Sabourin from the Pittsburgh Penguins for netminder Mathieu Garon in January, scored eight goals with 20 assists in 39 games with the Falcons.



Roberto Luongo Q&A: What it Means to be Named to Hockey Hall of Fame

Roberto Luongo looks back at how his career started, playing 70-plus games a year at points, becoming a fan favorite in Florida, his Twitter account and what getting named to the Hockey Hall of Fame means to him.


Could the New York Rangers Part Ways With Artemi Panarin?

Panarin struggled in the post-season, and some reports have suggested it wouldn't be crazy if he was shipped out of the Big Apple. Still, as Lyle Richardson says, it would be a challenge to move the forward.

Daniel and Henrik Sedin

Sedin Twins, Luongo Highlight Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2022

Daniel and Henrik Sedin, Roberto Luongo and Daniel Alfredsson headline the official Hockey Hall of Fame induction class of 2022.