Skip to main content

Rosa's winner, Lack's 39 saves lead Moose to 3-1 AHL win over Stars

CEDAR PARK, Texas - Eddie Lack made 39 saves and Marco Rosa scored the game-winner as the Manitoba Moose defeated the Texas Stars 3-1 in American Hockey League action Tuesday.

Just 30 seconds after coming out of the penalty box, Rosa took a pass in the neutral zone and fired a wrist shot over Tyler Beskorowany's glove at 7:57 of the third period. It was Rosa's third goal of the season, and first in 19 games.

Victor Oreskovich, on a power play, and Mario Bliznak, with a short-handed empty netter, also scored for Manitoba (13-10-4).

Greg Rallo replied for the Stars (16-11-2), while Beskorowany stopped 30 shots.

Manitoba opened the scoring on a power play at 12:14 of the first period. Moose defenceman Mark Flood rang a shot off of the crossbar that landed in the crease, and Oreskovich scored in the ensuing scrum.

The goal broke a skid of 29 power play chances without a goal for the Moose.

Lack kept the slim lead alive with a brilliant save late in the first period, sliding across the crease to stop Rallo's point-blank shot.

Lack wasn't as lucky on Rallo's next shot, which deflected high in the air and over the goaltender to tie the game at 1-1 at 19:29 of the first period.

Manitoba came back in the third, retaking the lead on Rosa's goal and cementing the win with eight seconds remaining as Bliznak bounced the puck down the ice and into the empty net.



Roberto Luongo Q&A: What it Means to be Named to Hockey Hall of Fame

Roberto Luongo looks back at how his career started, playing 70-plus games a year at points, becoming a fan favorite in Florida, his Twitter account and what getting named to the Hockey Hall of Fame means to him.


Could the New York Rangers Part Ways With Artemi Panarin?

Panarin struggled in the post-season, and some reports have suggested it wouldn't be crazy if he was shipped out of the Big Apple. Still, as Lyle Richardson says, it would be a challenge to move the forward.

Daniel and Henrik Sedin

Sedin Twins, Luongo Highlight Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2022

Daniel and Henrik Sedin, Roberto Luongo and Daniel Alfredsson headline the official Hockey Hall of Fame induction class of 2022.