Skip to main content

Team Canada to feature five players wearing different numbers than in NHL

CALGARY - Five members of Team Canada will be wearing different numbers than they normally do in the NHL.

Hockey Canada released a list of its player numbers for the Olympics on Friday and it included a few unfamiliar choices: Ryan Getzlaf (No. 51), Patrick Marleau (No. 11), Corey Perry (No. 24), Eric Staal (No. 21) and Jonathan Toews (No. 16).

In all cases, younger players made the switch in deference to an older teammate.

Dany Heatley will wear Getzlaf's traditional No. 15; Jarome Iginla will be in the No. 12 usually worn by Staal and Marleau; Brenden Morrow has Perry's No. 10; and Joe Thornton will have on the No. 19 that Toews wears for the Chicago Blackhawks.

Among the other players, Sidney Crosby will be in his usual No. 87, Martin Brodeur has his No. 30 and captain Scott Niedermayer was given his normal No. 27.


Cam Talbot and Mitch Marner

The Ottawa Senators Face an Anxious Start with Cam Talbot's Injury

Cam Talbot was expected to be the new starting goaltender for the Ottawa Senators. But after suffering a broken rib, it's up to Anton Forsberg to carry the load.

Hockey Canada

What You Need To Know After Hockey Canada's Hearing From Oct. 4

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage questioned the former chair and current interim chair of Hockey Canada's board of directors about aspects of its leadership and handling of sexual assault cases.

Marc-Andre Fleury

Stat Pack: Who’s Hot And Who's Not In The 2022 NHL Pre-Season?

Who's impressing or disappointing the most in the NHL's pre-season? What does it mean with the small sample sizes? Carol Schram takes a look.