Skip to main content

Two late power play goals lift Flames to 6-4 win over Kings

LOS ANGELES - Kristian Huselius and Daymond Langkow scored the tying and go-ahead goals on power plays less than two minutes apart in the third period, Jarome Iginla had a goal and two assists, and the Calgary Flames beat the Los Angeles Kings 6-4 Saturday night for their fifth straight victory.

Robyn Regehr and Langkow scored 62 seconds apart early in the first period, helping the Flames beat Los Angeles for the fifth straight time. Calgary has won 11 of 14 overall and eight of nine on the road.

Brad Stuart, Ladislav Nagy and Anze Kopitar scored third-period goals, and Alexander Frolov also found the net for Los Angeles, which has lost 10 of 13. The Kings' 15 wins are their fewest after 43 games since they had 13 during the lockout-shortened 1994-95 campaign when they finished 16-23-9.

Trailing 3-1 after two periods, Los Angeles grabbed a 4-3 lead on Kopitar's 17th goal during a 5-on-3 power play. Cory Sarich was serving a four-minute penalty for high-sticking Kyle Calder, and Matthew Lombardi was in the box for slashing.

Huselius tied it 4-all, converting Iginla's cross-ice pass with 6:55 to play and Frolov serving a tripping penalty. Langkow put the Flames ahead to stay with 5:05 left during a goalmouth scramble while Kings forward Brian Willsie was off for holding. Huselius scored again into an empty net with 16.1 seconds remaining for his 20th goal of the season.


Arizona Coyotes

Arizona Coyotes Are Back Home After 14-Game Road Trip

After 14 games on the road, the Arizona Coyotes are back home. The team looked back on the trip as they learned a lot from it.

Mattias Samuelsson

Screen Shots: Jesse Puljujarvi, Buffalo Sabres, AHL Firebirds

Adam Proteau writes his thoughts on Jesse Puljujarvi, Buffalo's great offense and poor defense, and the sustainability in mind for Coachella Valley's new arena.

Tage Thompson

Bluelines: Enjoying the Salary Cap Era in the NHL

Stan Fischler writes about his thoughts on the salary cap, NHLers facing the pressure to perform, the highest goal-scoring rate in decades and more.