Skip to main content

Crosby, Doan and Miller are finalists for Mark Messier NHL leadership award

NEW YORK, N.Y. - Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby, Phoenix's Shane Doan and Buffalo's Ryan Miller are the finalists for the Mark Messier NHL leadership award.

The award recognizes an individual as a superior leader in hockey and as a contributing member of society. The award honours an individual who leads by positive example through on-ice performance, motivation of team members and a dedication to community activities and charitable causes.

Messier, a six-time Stanley Cup champion and 16-time NHL all-star, solicits suggestions from club and league personnel and fans through in compiling a list of potential candidates. However, the selection of the finalists and the winner is Messier's alone.

The winner will be announced Wednesday, June 23, during the 2010 NHL Awards.

Previous winners of the Mark Messier Leadership Award are Chris Chelios of the Detroit Red Wings, Mats Sundin of the Toronto Maple Leafs, and Jarome Iginla of the Calgary Flames.


Max Domi

Top Five Trade Assets on Chicago Not Named Kane or Toews

The Chicago Blackhawks have had many trade rumors about Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews. Adam Proteau looks at five other players who could be dealt.

Sean Monahan

Will the Montreal Canadiens Re-Sign or Trade Sean Monahan?

After Sean Monahan's positive start to 2022-23, speculation suggests the Canadiens are deciding whether to re-sign him or kick some tires on the trade market.

Ilya Mikheyev

Rollercoaster Canucks Pull Off Four-Goal Comeback Win

The Vancouver Canucks went from blowing their own leads early this season to coming back from 4-0 down to beat the Montreal Canadiens Monday night.