Skip to main content

Hamilton, Hershey clinch berths in American Hockey League's Calder Cup final

Both finalists clinched their berths in the best-of-seven series with victories Saturday night to wrap up the conference championships.

The Bulldogs won the Robert W. Clarke Trophy as the Western Conference champions with a 3-1 victory over the Chicago Wolves.

It's the second conference title in five seasons for the Bulldogs, the Montreal Canadiens' affiliate.

The Bears claimed the Richard F. Canning Trophy as the Eastern champs with a 3-1 victory over the Manchester Monarchs. They extend their own AHL record by advancing to the Calder Cup final for the 20th time.

Hershey, affiliate for the Washington Capitals, will try to become the first team to repeat as league champions since the Springfield Indians in 1991.

The Bears have nine Calder Cup championships, tied with the Cleveland Barons for the most in league history.

Hershey hosts Games 1 and 2, Hamilton 3-5, and the Bears 6-7 if necessary.


Washington Capitals

NHL Burning Questions: Washington Capitals

Adam Proteau takes a look at the biggest questions surrounding the Washington Capitals ahead of the 2022-23 NHL season.

Dale Hawerchuk statue

Screen Shots: Hockey Canada, Jagr and Hawerchuk's Statue

Adam Proteau looks at Hockey Canada's reported second fund to cover uninsured claims "including but not limited to sexual abuse," Jaromir Jagr considering retirement and the unveiling of the Dale Hawerchuk statue in Winnipeg.


Hometown Hockey, European Style

The NHL's Global Series kicks off this week and it's a special trip for Nashville's Roman Josi and San Jose's Tomas Hertl.