Skip to main content

Where The Cup Was Won: Which barns have witnessed the most championship presentations?

In the post-expansion era, 21 different teams have won the Stanley Cup. But in which arenas did they hoist the sport's greatest prize? Several buildings have seen one-off victories, but there are six barns that have played host to multiple championship celebrations.

The Stanley Cup has been awarded 50 times since the 1967 expansion from six to 12 teams. Over that span, 21 different teams have taken home Lord Stanley’s famed mug.Montreal has done it an unparalleled 10 times thanks in big part to six wins during a dynastic 1970s stretch. The Edmonton Oilers are in second place with half the number of wins, thanks to Wayne Gretzky and Co. winning the Cup four times in the 1980s(and once without him).

But where has the Stanley Cup actually been awarded?

It has been won in 31 different rinks, and eight of those arenas have seen the Cup won on multiple occasions. Last season, T-Mobile Arena, in Vegas, joined the list after the Washington Capitals topped the Golden Knights in five games. This season, will TD Garden in Boston or SAP Center in San Jose see the Stanley Cup won for a second time, or will the Enterprise Center in St. Louis have its first winner?

Here are the venues where the Stanley Cup has been awarded more than twice.

4 – Montreal Forum ('68, '79, '89, '93) and Northlands Coliseum ('84, '85, '87, '88)

No surprise here. The two teams that have won the Cup the most have also hosted the most Stanley Cup celebrations. The Oilers skated around the ice with the Cup in front of their home fans four out of the five times they’ve won it all, and they did so all within a five-year span.In between the Oilers' two back-to-back titles, the Montreal Canadiens won it at Calgary's Saddledome in 1986, meaning for five straight years the Cup was awarded in Alberta.

While Montreal has those 10 championship banners, only three of their wins – 1968, 1979 and, their most recent championship, 1993 – have come on home ice.After it first opened its doors in Nov. 1924, the Forum played host to a championship in every decade until it closed in 1996.

3 – Boston Garden ('70, '78, '90), Chicago Stadium ('71, '73, '92),Joe Louis Arena ('97, '02, '09), Nassau Veterans Coliseum ('80, '81,'83)

Again, not too surprising to see three Original Six rinks included alongside another dynasty in the 1980s New York Islanders.

The only Bruins championship witnessed by fans at the old Boston Garden was in 1970, the sweep of the St. Louis Blues finished off by the iconic “fly through the air” goal by Bobby Orr. The Bruins won the Cup again in 1972, but that time in front of fans at Madison Square Garden in New York. The other two Cups won at the Garden were the 1978 Canadiens and the Gretzky-less Oilers in 1990.

While Blackhawks fans witnessed winning the Cup at Chicago Stadium twice in the pre-expansion era and once on home ice at the United Center, all three post-'67 Cup wins in Chicago Stadium were by the road team. The Canadiens took the Cup in seven games in 1971 and in six game in 1973. The last Cup at Chicago Stadium came in 1992 when the Pittsburgh Penguins, led by Mario Lemieux, swept the Blackhawks with a thrilling 6-5 win in Game 4.

Fans in Detroit saw their Wings win twice at 'The Joe,' in 1997 and in 2002, before the iconic rink on the Detroit River was shuttered at the end of the 2017 season. The last Stanley Cup awarded there was to the Pittsburgh Penguins in 2009, taking revenge over the Red Wings after they had beat the Pens in their barn the previous year.

Three of the four Islanders Cup wins came at home in 1980, '81 and '83. Nassau is the only rink other than Northlands to host the Cup winners in consecutive seasons in the post-expansion era. The Islanders only road victory came in 1982, when they swept the Vancouver Canucks. A pair of second-period power play goals from Mike Bossy sealed the Canucks’ fate at Pacific Coliseum.

Want more in-depth features, analysis and an All-Access pass to the latest content? Subscribe to The Hockey News magazine.



Patrik Allvin to be Named Canucks GM

Patrik Allvin is set to become Vancouver's 12th NHL GM, leaving the Pittsburgh Penguins to take the position.

Shea Theodore

The Vegas Golden Knights Continue to do it All

Sometimes, you just have to take a step back and be in awe of what the Vegas Golden Knights have done, what it continues to do, and what its future looks like, especially after getting bitten hard by the injury bug.


Midseason NHL Fantasy Breakdown: Most Surprising Players

Nearly half the league has reached the halfway mark, and it’s time to take stock of this year’s wild season. Jason Chen takes a look at some of the most surprising faces in the fantasy hockey landscape in 2021-22.