Every season there’s at least one call that you’ve never seen before. This season’s comes from Minnesota, where Ryan Carter was whistled for, well, technically, it was interference.
During the Saturday's Wild contest with the visiting Winnipeg Jets, Carter took two consecutive penalties. The first call was a tripping minor. But the second call is the strange one. Before the eight-minute mark of the first period, Carter played the buck before entirely exiting the penalty box. That’s right: because Carter only had one skate on the ice, he immediately headed right back to the sin bin.
As per the NHL rulebook, rule 56.2 states that, “should a player about to come onto the ice, play the puck while one or both skates are still on the players’ or penalty bench, a minor penalty for interference shall be assessed.” Sounds like not only was the right call made, but that Carter may be the future poster boy for the minor penalty.
Aside from the minor penalty, there was no damage done, however. Carter’s minor was killed off, as the Wild only surrendered two shots on the penalty kill.