• Powered by Roundtable
    Jonathan Tovell
    Jonathan Tovell
    Nov 21, 2024, 19:52

    The Predators got penalized for playing the incorrect starting lineup against the Kraken. Here's how that NHL rule works, including what would have happened if Nashville scored.

    The Predators got penalized for playing the incorrect starting lineup against the Kraken. Here's how that NHL rule works, including what would have happened if Nashville scored.

    Image

    The Nashville Predators received an early penalty in Wednesday's shutout loss to the Seattle Kraken for having Filip Forsberg start the game.

    That's because Steven Stamkos was supposed to play the first shift instead for the away team.

    The bench minor penalty resulted from violating rule 7 of the NHL rulebook regarding starting lineups. While the Predators survived the Kraken's power play, the call went viral, considering how rare it happens.

    Rule 7: Starting Lineup

    Before every NHL game, the coach or GM of the visiting team must name the players in their starting lineup when submitting their overall lineup. 

    Once that happens, the home team can see that visiting starting lineup and then choose its five skaters and a goalie to take puck drop.

    Afterward, that starting lineup cannot change unless a referee reviews and approves the change before the start of the game.

    How To Catch And Penalize An Incorrect Starting Lineup

    Once the game begins, the opposing team has until the second faceoff of the match to appeal the starting lineup to a referee. After that, it's too late.

    Unlike a coach's challenge, if the appeal is unsustained and the opposing team's starting lineup is correct, there is no penalty to the requesting team.

    "The determining factor is the player or goalkeeper’s name, and not necessarily the player or goalkeeper’s number, must be correctly listed by the team," says the NHL rulebook.

    In Nashville's case, No. 91, Steven Stamkos was supposed to start instead of No. 9, Filip Forsberg. They got the two-minute bench minor as a result.

    Can A Team Score With The Incorrect Starting Lineup?

    If the Predators – or any offending team – scored on the first shift with the incorrect group of players on the ice, they'd still be assessed a bench minor penalty. The goal, however, would count.

    If the Kraken – or any team appealing the offending team's starting lineup – scored on the first shift, then successfully challenged the opposing squad's lineup before the second faceoff, the goal would nullify the penalty.

    Get the latest news and trending stories right to your inbox by subscribing to The Hockey News newsletter here. And share your thoughts by commenting below the article on THN.com or by visiting our forum.